We The Kingdom – Live From The Ryman

Capitol Christian Music Group

Release Date: July 21st 2023

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

We The Kingdom– Live From The Ryman (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. Left It In The Water / Proud Mary / Johnny B. Goode
  2. Child Of Love
  3. Don’t Tread On Me (feat. Jamiah Hudson)
  4. Jesus Does
  5. God So Loved
  6. Miracle Power
  7. Cages
  8. Peace
  9. Family
  10. God Is On The Throne (feat. Lauren McClinton)
  11. Holy Water
  12. The Light In You
  13. Waking Up

As I look around at all of the worship artists (solo and bands) out there; I’m left wondering. Are we in fact at worship saturation point? Well… quite possibly. It’s the point when a worship artist releases a new song, and then we all shrug our shoulders and go about our business- like we don’t really care anymore whether a worship artist releases something new or not. I know I have felt that many times with Planetshakers… but the point is that there is a time, maybe now or maybe into the future, whereby new bands come, and they sing praises to Jesus, and we definitely aren’t as excited anymore. For me, worship saturation may be very applicable to some bands (like the aforementioned Planetshakers as well as Jesus Culture and Bethel Music!), however for this next ‘new’ band recently signed to Capitol Christian Music Group (and who won Dove Awards in 2020 and 2021), I’m definitely not at saturation point yet. Because We The Kingdom musically is something different. Similar to I Am They, Zach Williams, Passion, Rend Collective and The Crabb Family all rolled into one; the band comprises of songwriter Ed Cash and his family (brother Scott, children Franni and Martin as well as close friend Andrew Bergthold) and is probably the most energetic band since Rend Collective. I know, I know, it’s a bold statement, but one listen to their debut EP Live At The Wheelhouse and one or more watches of any of their live videos on YouTube will quickly change your mind. What will also change your mind is the group’s debut album Holy Water which released in August 2020.

Having reviewed this album a few years ago, you can all read about it here. You can also check out my review of We The Kingdom’s deluxe edition of Holy Water, as well as Jon’s thoughts on the group’s latest live album, and his thoughts on their self-titled sophomore album, which released in September 2022. We also conveyed our thoughts about the band’s Christmas EP from 2021 also; and I’m positive that when you read everything positive that we have said about this worship band, then you’ll be in awe and amazed by Ed and co. as well, like I have. And thus, We The Kingdom is back in 2023- this time with a live album called Live At The Ryman comprising of some of their biggest hits, sung in a live setting.

With nothing much at all needing to be said about We The Kingdom and their latest live album (why review it anyway? Except to let you know that these guys, though keeping close to the original studio recordings, have still recorded yet another stellar and brilliant release- this time sung in a live setting!); this release is especially moving and inspiring, with the live renditions of many of these songs resonating with me more than their studio recordings. Songs like “Left It In the Water”, “God Is On the Throne”, “Waking Up”, “Peace” and “Jesus Does” especially are highlights; however every track has no discernible weaknesses in any aspect. So what are you all waiting for? Live At the Ryman deserves 2, 3, 5, 10+ listens. So how about I go away while you guys check out We The Kingdom? Alright, have you finished? What do you reckon?

3 songs to listen to: Don’t Tread On Me, God So Loved, God Is On The Throne, Waking Up

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Rend Collective, I Am They, Tenth Avenue North, Jason Castro, Chris Sligh, Colton Dixon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *