We The Kingdom – Live At The Wheelhouse EP

Sparrow Records

Release Date: October 25th 2019

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

We The Kingdom– Live At The Wheelhouse EP (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. God So Loved
  2. Holy Water
  3. SOS
  4. Free, Amen
  5. Sing Wherever I Go
  6. Dancing On The Waves

The heart of We The Kingdom is to create music that candidly tells how God reached into the middle of our brokenness, and drew us into His story of redemption. Songs of testimony and worship have been a healing salve for us. We want to share our journey with others with the hope that God will use that as a catalyst for healing in others. Our heart’s desire is to see captives set free, relationships restored, and people brought to the Cross. We pray that God would sew the thread of His promises through the stories of each song we write, and weave together a tapestry that points straight to the great love of Jesus

Are we at worship saturation point? The point where new bands come and they sing praises to Jesus, but we aren’t excited anymore? Maybe, but for this next ‘new’ band recently signed to Capitol Christian Music Group, I’m not at saturation point yet. Because We The Kingdom is something different. Similar to I Am They, Zach Williams, Passion, Rend Collective and The Crabb Family all rolled into one, the band comprises of songwriter Ed Cash and his family (brother Scott, children Franni and Martin as well as close friend Andrew Bergthold) and is probably the most energetic band since Rend Collective. I know, I know, it’s a bold statement, but one listen to their debut EP Live At The Wheelhouse EP and one watch of any of their live videos on Youtube will quickly change your mind.

Opening track “God So Loved” is a modern retelling of the most recognised verses ever- John 3:16, as we remember that we each have eternal life because of Jesus- thus we can thank Him and be grateful for His sacrifice. Upbeat in tempo and vibrant musically, this track is a best as an opener as the group hold nothing back and sing immensely from their heart- the presence of a line of the hymn “Doxology” in this bridge gives this track extra depth also. “Holy Water” is next and is the band’s first single, as Ed channels his inner Zach Williams, describing God’s presence like ‘…holy water on my skin…’. As Ed and Franni combine for vocals that are out-of-this-world and eloquently remind us that we all need Jesus more than we even need water; we are delivered an anthem for the ages and a song that I never am tired of…at least not yet!

And if we thought “Holy Water” is Holy Spirit-anointed, then “SOS” is pretty close as well- as Franni passionately sings about needing a Saviour, from the point of view of a non-believer, crying out to ‘somebody’, asking them to save her from herself. Similar in theme to “Anyone” from Demi Lovato, We The Kingdom have released a song that is sure to bring comfort and healing to all who sing and listen. While “Free, Amen” takes another well-known verse (2 Corinthians 3:17- where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom) and turns a simple refrain into a celebratory joyous upbeat tune deserving of being played on Sunday mornings at church. “Sing Wherever I Go” sounds like a children’s call-and-response type of song on the surface (and yes, that’s probably exactly what it is!), yet these types of songs are nonetheless enjoyable and needed in a society where we over-complicate some aspects of Christianity, when it really should be simple- that Jesus loves us therefore we can sing out loud His praises wherever we go. While the final song on the EP is “Dancing On The Waves”, a Jesus Culture type ballad, whereby Franni eloquently invites us all from God’s point of view to be in communion and in a relationship with Him. It’s as simple as that, and as the EP ends on a simple yet effective note, we are reminded at the lyrical and vocal prowess of this band- and I hope and pray that there are many more albums to come, as this family is crazily talented!

Nothing much more needs to be said about We The Kingdom. This band is extremely good considering that this is a debut project, while both Ed and Franni sing to perfection! So what are you all waiting for? Live At The Wheelhouse deserves 2, 3, 5, 10+ listens. So howabout I go away while you guys check out We The Kingdom? Alright, have you finished? What do you reckon?

3 songs to listen to: Holy Water, Free Amen, Sing Wherever I Go

Score: 4/5

RIYL: Jesus Culture, Passion, I Am They, Rend Collective, Crabb Family, Zach Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *