North Point InsideOut – Nothing Ordinary Pt 1 (Live) EP

Centricity Music

Release Date: June 16th 2017

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

North Point InsideOut– Nothing Ordinary Pt 1 (Live) EP (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. We Are Royals (feat. Chris Cauley)
  2. Holy (feat. Seth Condrey)
  3. I Fall (Feat. Seth Condrey)
  4. Sons And Daughters (feat. Emily Harrison)
  5. Death Was Arrested (feat. Seth Condrey)

Over the years, music worship movements come and go. It’s a fact that will never change. New bands come in and old ones leave. In any given year though, the number of worship albums is plenty- take this year for example. Kari Jobe, Brian and Jenn Johnson, Anthony Evans, Bethany Barnard, Passion, Darlene Zschech, Laura Story, Aaron Shust, Out Of The Dust, Planetshakers, Greg Sykes, Jaci Velasquez, Selah, Kim Walker-Smith, Iron Bell Music, The City Harmonic, Hillsong UNITED… this list goes on! And it’s only the first half of the year! Though some of these worship albums are possibly a tad cliché, others are unique and brilliantly recorded and produced.

Enter in North Point InsideOut, the youth worship team from NorthPoint Community Church, based in Georgia. Recently signing to Centricity Music, and unveiling their debut studio project Nothing Ordinary earlier this year; the team led by Seth Condrey are capitalising on their already unprecedented success by dropping their live EP a few weeks ago. Nothing Ordinary Pt 1 (Live) EP contains 5 tracks very accessible to the church, and are worth more than just a passing listen. Whiel only standing at 5 tracks long, this emphatic and vibrant worship experience could be seen as another conglomerate of songs thrown on the ‘worship fire’…but don’t dismiss this album too quickly- some songs may indeed surprise and grow on you (especially the hit single “Death Was Arrested”, which has been covered multiple times already to date! In fact, this project is probably one of my favourite worship EP’s all year!

Opening the tracklist with the energetic electronic dance number “We Are Royals”, Chris Cauley leads an impressive pop melody eloquently reminding us of our sonship and daughtership to Jesus, the Lord most high, as we are reminded that ‘…all the rich, all the poor, all the people, all Yours, we are daughters, we are sons, more than mortals, we are royals, we are Yours…’. The knowledge that we are heirs to the throne of Jesus because of everything He’s done for us, should be reason alone for us to celebrate. Already recorded in a studio setting, the live setting enhances the song further, as we get an inside look into the energy and passion of the audience, which is a lot!

“Sons And Daughters”, led by Emily Harrison, is a gentle, sombre yet comforting piano led ballad, as Emily ardently highlights the creation story, that God knew all of our names before creation, before everything, how mind boggling is that? Emily also reminds us that we are sons and daughters of God, that He loves us very much, and that He longs for us to be in communion with Him, what a refreshing thought.

With the remainder of the songs being led by Seth Condrey, it is this worshipper whom I reckon will lead the passionate and vibrant group for years and years to come. “Holy”, though generic in its title, is an all-out worship anthem, as Seth ardently reiterates that Jesus is holy above all, crying out ‘…praise Him from Whom all blessings flow, praise Him all creatures here below, praise Him, He reigns forevermore, holy, holy…’; while the tempo is lessened greatly in the earnest, emotional and poignant piano ballad “I Fall”. A fervent admission and prayer of reverence to our Maker and Saviour, Seth emotionally relays the fact that we can always fall at the feet of the One who knows and loves us completely- that He and He alone is the only One we can trust and rely on.

Yet it is…-yep you guessed it- “Death Was Arrested” that is the song to listen to on this EP is you were to only listen to one song. “Death Was Arrested” probably will be the song to receive the most airplay at radio during 2017, partly because it has already been covered so much (including versions from Laura Story, Aaron Shust and People Of The Earth. Yet there is indeed truth and a simple concept there- as Seth reiterates the simple yet emotional and honest message of Jesus delivering us from sin, and arresting death, so that we can have new life in Him. With Seth proclaiming across anthemic guitars and keys that ‘…Your grace, so free washes over me, You have made me new, now life begins with You, it’s Your endless love, pouring down on us, You have made us new, now life begins with You…’, we are glimpsed into the love and devotion we all should have for the One who died for each one of us personally.

At first glance it may seem like a somewhat ‘rehash’ of the band’s studio album from earlier this year was on the surface a hasty and not that thought out decision. However, Nothing Ordinary Pt 1 (Live) EP is filled with God-inspired moments, led by many worshippers that will be prominent and in the spotlight in the many years to come (each of Emily Harrison, Seth Condrey and Chris Cauley will have long lasting musical careers, either as part of North Point InsideOut or as solo artists- I can at least guarantee that!). On a day where Emily Irene Fertig and Jeremy Camp both release inspiring singles, and Landry Cantrell unveils his debut solo album; this movement of church worshippers will probably not reach many sales in their first week. However I reckon that these worship leaders care not about sales, but rather reaching listeners with the love of Jesus, as this is definitely one of the underrated albums release on that day, and in this month. Hopefully as time progresses, North Point InsideOut receives the recognition that the church and its ministry deserve! Well done guys for a thoroughly enjoyable EP; and God bless your ministry in the future.

3 songs to listen to: I Fall, Sons And Daughters, Death Was Arrested

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Eddie Kirkland, Casey Darnell, Kari Jobe, Meredith Andrews, Michael W. Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *