Mini-Review: Wilson Phillips – Christmas In Harmony

Wilson Phillips

Christmas In Harmony

Label: Sony Masterworks

Release Date: October 12th 2010 (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday
  2. Little Drummer Boy
  3. Warm Lovin’ Christmastime
  4. When A Child Is Born
  5. Christmastime
  6. Silent Night
  7. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
  8. Silver Bells
  9. Sleigh Ride
  10. Joy
  11. Winter Wonderland
  12. The Christmas Song
  13. Our Prayer

Initial thoughts: I’ve never heard of Wilson Phillips aside from the song “Hold On”- but their Christmas album is one of the most inspirational I’ve heard in a long, long time. One of the most hopeful vocal girl group Christmas albums I’ve heard!

Reason to listen: These three girls sing together in perfect harmony- and their voices together is like pure gold, like honey and like a dreamy joy to listen to. I could never be tired of listening to Wilson Phillips!

Reason to buy: The next generation of the Beach Boys (sisters Carnie Wilson and Wendy Wilson) and The Mamas And The Papas (Chynna Phillips)… with such an exquisite vocal range? I mean, that’s more than enough to step out in faith and buy the album, right? If you’re not convinced now, then you probably won’t ever be!

Reason to skip: If you’re not a fan of music period!

No. of carols: 9

No. of originals: 5 (including a Wizzard cover and the wordless hymn “Our Prayer” from The Beach Boys!)

No of guest artists: None. All three vocalists sing though, and sing in harmony! These girls sound fawless and superb here- I don’t think there’s a vocal girl group that sounds better!

Does it have heart?: Immense heart, immense passion, immense joy here! There’s a reason why all these girls have sung together all of these years- and that’s because they all feed off each other’s energy and they know what works for each of them and what doesn’t vocally. As a result, this Christmas album is near-flawless and there’s immense passion, simply because all three girls obviously respect each other’s strengths and weaknesses!

Does it have a Christmas-y atmosphere?: Sure does! A 90’s theme as well, but not as 90’s as NSYNC’s Home For Christmas!

Uniqueness?: Compared to Christmas music now, I’d say it’s very unique! Compared to Christmas music back in the 90’s, I’d say not that unique. So ‘yes’ and ‘no’ at the same time!

Christmas message: Even though there’s only 3 ‘worshipful’ carols, the spirit of camaraderie and of Jesus Christ is permeated throughout- at least that’s my own opinion. Case in point is “When A Child Is Born”!

Closing thoughts: If you haven’t heard of Wilson Phillips, then you need to listen to this album for your own cultural and music education. If you know these girls… well you still need to listen to this album!

3 songs to listen to: When A Child Is Born, Christmastime, Joy

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Yes/no; why/why not?: Wilson Philips aren’t that popular anymore, therefore their Christmas album may be out of print. But if it’s available, I’d say buy it! This is an album that is perfect for listening to when you are feeling down. Especially during Christmas but even at all times of the year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *