Samantha Harvey – Heartbreak Hangover – EP


Release Date: August 19th 2022

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

Samantha Harvey– Heartbreak Hangover – EP (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. Heartbreak Hangover
  2. I Kinda Like That
  3. Drown In Your Love
  4. Somebody Else
  5. The One

It’s been about 1 and a half years since Little Mix went on hiatus. Their album Between Us from 2021 was their last to date and is one of my favourite greatest hits projects ever. We reviewed the project here; and with Leigh-Anne’s solo single having dropped this past month (which we will review soon!); the question remains as to who will fill the void of Little Mix while they’re on hiatus? The answer, ladies, and gentlemen; is Samantha Harvey, who released her debut EP last year in August. I found out about Samantha’s music through Apple Music recommending me her EP heartbreak Hangover on the Apple Music Pre-Order page one day- and since that time I’ve never looked back. Sure, this release is quite ‘old’ to be reviewed; but let me just briefly touch upon a few things before I let you all listen to these songs and make up your own mind, shall I?

The lead single and title track opens proceedings and is a ballad where Samantha eloquently and passionately sings about still not being over her ex, and resorting to drinking wine and other forms of alcohol in order to numb the hurt and the pain. It’s a song with no resolution, and though it may be depressing, Samantha poignantly paints a picture of a world in desperate need, where we dampen our feelings down with pills and sedatives and other distractions. Instead, Samantha indirectly encourages us to let all of our feelings out- and as we realise that it might be cathartic to be honest and vulnerable, we can start living again without the shadows of our baggage hanging over us.

The rest of the EP, though short, reminds us of Samantha’s burgeoning stardom and has me intrigued for whatever releases next. “I Kinda Like That” speaks about the beginnings of a new relationship and the butterflies that Samantha feels to her new partner; while the piano ballad “Drown In Your Love” is similar in theme from the previous song, and speaks about the bubble of a new relationship that Samantha and her new partner are currently in. “Somebody Else”, a heartbreaking melody, has Samantha outlining her raw emotions towards her ex for moving on from her with somebody else; while the EP ends with “The One”, where Samantha declares that she has found The One and the person she wants to spend the rest of her life with.

Heartbreak Hangover by Samantha Harvey may not be everyone’s preference. The EP is full of ballads, and Samantha sings about relationships- which not everyone may resonate with. But there’s no denying Samantha’s passion- and as we root for this young singer to make it big, let’s remember to support our favourite singers during this time of global uncertainty. Little Mix may be gone for a moment, but Samantha is here to stay. So, what are you waiting for? Heartbreak Hangover is waiting for you, regardless of where you are in life.

3 songs to listen to: Heartbreak Hangover, Drown In Your Love, The One

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Samantha Jade, Little Mix, Selena Gomez, Ellie Goulding, Mimi Webb, Kylie Minogue, Jessica Mauboy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *