Peter Hollens & Tim Foust – Beautiful Duets Vol. 1

One Voice Productions

Release Date: January 20th 2023

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

Peter Hollens & Tim Foust– Beautiful Duets Vol. 1 (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. The Sound Of Silence
  2. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  3. And So It Goes
  4. Greensleeves
  5. Sunshine On My Shoulders
  6. Blackbird
  7. Teach Your Children
  8. God Only Knows (feat. Evynne Hollens & Jenika Marion)
  9. Fire And Rain
  10. You Can Close Your Eyes
  11. You’ve Got A Friend
  12. Scarborough Fair

To be honest, I don’t think anyone has heard about Peter Hollens. No, that’s not a correct statement. I mean, surely there are a lot of his fans and followers on his twitter, facebook and youtube pages, but what I’m saying is that the general public, people collectively; don’t know who he is (aside from his diehard fans). Even for me, who is an occasional listener of Peter (and not really a diehard fan, but a fan nonetheless), if it wasn’t for a post on NRT, showcasing a powerful acapella duet with CCM singer-songwriter Jamie Grace (covering a Linkin Park song ‘Heavy’, in the wake of the lead singer’s suicide), I’d never would’ve stumbled upon such a talented and emotive artist. Though independent, and though mostly a cover artist, Peter’s passion, and enthusiasm to create art that is far beyond unique, is something of a mystery, even still. With much of his material only created through voice and vocal movements (Peter is an acapella artist), Peter’s uncanny knack at transforming an already familiar (or even unfamiliar) song and making it his own is nothing short of a talent that is indeed God-given.

Taken verbatim from by brother Jon’s most recent review of Peter Hollens’ latest Christmas album New Christmas, the sentiment still remains as we enter into 2023. Despite already releasing a plethora of inspirational and powerful albums (Peter Hollens has even unveiled to the public his own rendition of the Greatest Showman songs [of which we reviewed the album here]), alongside a self-titled album Peter Hollens in 2014, and a compilation in 2019 titled Legendary Covers, Vol. 1 (both of which include a myriad of cover songs from famous melodies throughout the years), to name a few); I still reckon Peter isn’t that famous. Sure, he’s famous on YouTube and the internet- but that’s it. And though he’s also given to us a 2 disc acapella album titled Magical Legendary Covers– 28 tracks of Disney covers unveiled in May 2020 (of which we reviewed here), as well as a follow-up to Legendary Covers, Vol. 1, called Legendary Covers, Vol. 2: Inspire (a collection of songs that are all considered to be, in some shape or form, inspirational, or even religious- inclusive of songs like “You Will Be Found”, “When You Believe”, “The Climb”, “Fix You”, “I’ll Stand By You”, “Hallelujah”, “How Great Thou Art” and “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”); perhaps if you want to read about Peter in depth and realise why he’s an up and coming future influential artist, then you can do that in the blog post I wrote about him a while back. Peter’s craft as an acapella vocalist is nothing short of brilliant- but even if a handful of people know about it and the wider world doesn’t- that doesn’t diminish his impact nor his God-given talent.

Peter recently unveiled a new album this year (of course he did! He’s releasing new music all the time!), and this time he’s brought along Home Free vocalist Tim Foust along for the ride. These 12 songs on Beautiful Duets Vol. 1 feature Peter and Tim delivering some of the most powerful and compelling renditions of some of the most timeless classic ballads and inspirational songs we’ve heard over the past many years. Songs like “The Sound Of Silence”, “Bridge Over Troubled Water”, “Sunshine On My Shoulders”, “Blackbird”, “God Only Knows” (no not the for KING & COUNTRY version, but the Beach Boys version!), “Fire And Rain”, and “You’ve Got A Friend”, have all been covered quite brilliantly (as have all the other lesser known tracks!); and as Peter and Tim effortlessly and exquisitely provide hope, comfort and solace in these songs during a time where we as a human race are literally crying out for a shoulder to cry on and to lean on, we are met with an album to lift our spirits, to be like a warn cup of hot chocolate on a cold winter’s night, and to be like a hug from a dear friend. Peter has this uncanny ability to enchant and enthrall us with his albums, and it’s no different here.

Peter Hollens is a once in a generation type of artist. So too with Tim Foust. Probably second and third to Pentatonix, Peter and Tim’s group Home Free are incredibly accomplished and professional in their craft. Time will tell if this album makes Peter and Home Free worldwide superstars. But even if it doesn’t, then let’s just appreciate this album for what it is- a moving, comforting, hopeful and heart-warming project designed to make us feel better. For that, you all need to listen. In fact, you all need to listen to Peter’s discography and Home Free’s discography. No other ways around it. And so, what do you think of Beautiful Duets, Vol. 1? Which artist will be highlighted in a potential volume 2 album later on?

3 songs to listen to: Bridge Over Troubled Water, God Only Knows, You’ve Got A Friend

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Tyler Ward, Tiffany Alvord, Cimorelli, Kurt Hugo Schneider, Megan Nicole, Lucy Thomas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *