Backstreet Boys – In A World Like This (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

BMG Rights Management

Release Date: July 28th 2023

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

Backstreet Boys– In A World Like This (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (Amazon/JB Hi-Fi)

Track Listing:

  1. In a World Like This
  2. Permanent Stain
  3. Breathe
  4. Madeleine
  5. Show ‘Em (What You’re Made Of)
  6. Make Believe
  7. Try
  8. Trust Me
  9. Love Somebody
  10. One Phone Call
  11. Feels Like Home
  12. Soldier
  13. Hot Hot Hot
  14. In a World Like This (Live in Japan)
  15. Show ‘Em (What You’re Made Of) [Live in Japan]
  16. Show Me The Meaning of Being Lonely (Live in Japan)
  17. Love Somebody (Live in Japan)
  18. The One (Live in Japan)
  19. Breathe (Live in Japan)

Boy bands in general, to be honest, haven’t really been my thing when I was growing up, even up until now I believe. Sure yes, I was indeed listening to Ronan Keating last year, but much of his songs weren’t the boy-band style that was part of his group Boyzone, and thus, his music was much more adult contemporary. But all in all, vocal harmonies of all-boys just wasn’t on my radar…till now of course. And my verdict? Well, still not my number 1 go-to music, but I can still appreciate the musical genre, and in the case of Backstreet Boys, understand and even admire the fact that their longevity in the business is as long as it has been. Backstreet Boys started in the mid-1990s with five teenage boys being scouted to form a group, and they’ve been together ever since. Now 9 full-length studio albums later, we see a group that has risen to the occasion and has filled the space in people’s hearts, with much of their songs alluding to love, hearts, the breaking of hearts, hope, healing and just plain fun sometimes. The songs aren’t necessarily deep in any aspect, and maybe that’s ok. Leave deep and meaningful to artists like Ed Sheeran and Andrew Peterson. But for Backstreet Boys, their music indeed is such where there is passion, fun, exuberance and enthusiasm oozing out of their music, and that by and large is just the tip of the iceberg. Brian Littrell, Howie Dorough, Nick Carter, AJ McLean, and Kevin Richardson have created a space where the boy-band style of music could grow and flourish. Everyone knows the band, even if they don’t, and their continued presence in an ever-growing and changing industry is a feat in and of itself, and makes me wonder that they all must be doing something right, in order for them to still be here in 2020!

Backstreet Boys need no introduction. They’re synonymous with boy-bands, as are *NSYNC, and the 5 young men (and now older men) were once the heart-throbs of the whole world. In the 90’s, people went absolutely crazy over this group and other groups like these- similar to how One Direction was popular in the 2010’s and now the rise and rise of K-Pop; but I was not, and still am not, one of those people. I’m not a die-hard fan who lines up days in advance at a concert, or to buy the cheapest ticket to a concert. And that’s not to say that those people are bad or making those decisions is bad. It’s just that I don’t understand the fandom of people who love boy-bands, and I probably never will. And as Jon so eloquently outlined in his blog about Backstreet Boys; their work speaks for themselves and I don’t need to say anymore.

If you want to read about the group and their many, many, hits; then read this blog to your heart’s content. But now Backstreet Boys have released something new. Or… they’ve repackaged something ‘new’ to release in physical format. To celebrate the 10th anniversary edition of their underrated album In A World Like This, these guys have released In A World Like This (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). You can buy it on Amazon or at JB Hi Fi if you live in Australia. And let’s be reacquainted with one of the undiscovered gems of pop. This release marries together the standard edition of the album together with the digital version; and even as we now wait with abated breath for something new from these guys, let us marvel at the craft of these five men and let’s listen to this underrated yet till brilliant work of art. “Show Then What You’re Made Of”, “Soldier”, the title track, “Love Somebody”, “One Phone Call” and the bonus melody “Hot Hot Hot” are all moving and inspiring; and it’s great to see many live tracks added here also. Well done guys, I can’t wait to hear what’s in store for you all next!

5 songs to listen to: Show Then What You’re Made Of, In A World Like This, Love Somebody, One Phone Call, Hot Hot Hot

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Westlife, Boyzone, Ronan Keating, Robbie Williams, Take That, *NSYNC, Justin Timberlake

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *