Point Of Grace – Turn Your Eyes (Songs We Love, Songs You Know), Vol. II

Curb Records

Release Date: April 28th 2023

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

Point Of Grace– Turn Your Eyes (Songs We Love, Songs You Know), Vol. II (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. At The Table
  2. Way Maker
  3. Awesome God
  4. I Believe (feat. Wes King)
  5. Turn Your Eyes
  6. House Of The Lord
  7. It Is Well
  8. My Ransom
  9. Somewhere Down The Road

Point of Grace is no stranger to success. A household name in CCM music, the all-female vocal group formed in the mid 1990’s and have since delivered powerful and heartfelt melodies and wowed us more times than we can imagine. Their stirring radio singles and poignant, reflective ballads have touched the lives of many, with songs such as “How You Live”, “Steady On”, “Gather At The River”, “Keep The Candle Burning”, “Blue Skies”, “You Will Never Walk Alone”, “Day By Day” and “I Choose You” each earning a place in our hearts as we hear such honesty and utter devotion to Jesus Christ. Though Leigh Cappillino, Denise Jones and Shelley Breen last released original new material in A Thousand Little Things way back in 2012, as well as a covers album Directions Home three years later, plus their 5th Christmas project in 2017, and a worship covers album in 2018, you may be forgiven to think that the three vocalists are only releasing ‘special event’ projects now. And while that may be true in this current season, and especially true since Point Of Grace’s latest project Turn Your Eyes (Songs We Love, Songs You Know), Vol. II contains their versions of well-known worship songs and hymns; the fact that the group is releasing… something new, should whet our appetites for when Point of Grace do record a full length album of all-original material, whenever that may be. Though Turn Your Eyes (Songs We Love, Songs You Know), Vol. II is a release to tie us over until the group decide to release all new original material, that doesn’t mean that this hymns/worship album is inferior; in fact I’d go as far to say that it’s a unique project and one of my favourite worship albums of 2023 thus far. So let’s sit back, and sing along with the ladies of POG, as we celebrate Jesus and worship Him.

A glance down the track list and we see quite a few worship songs re-done, and from numerous listens, let me tell you that Leigh, Denise, and Shelley have recorded these anthems to perfection. “Somewhere Down The Road” (Amy Grant), “Awesome God” (Rich Mullins), “Waymaker” (Michael W. Smith), “I Believe” (Wes King), and “House Of The Lord” (Phil Wickham) are all recorded skillfully and to perfection, while the hymns “Turn Your Eyes”, “It Is Well” and “My Ransom” are exquisitely covered as well. The original “At The Table” speaks about there being room at the table of Jesus Christ and the Kingdom and family of God for anyone and everyone; and Point Of Grace remind us that their best days are still ahead of them.

With an amazing repertoire of songs already recorded, Point Of Grace have recorded an exemplary album in Turn Your Eyes (Songs We Love, Songs You Know), Vol. II– an album to be savoured, and listened to again and again as we dwell upon Jesus and His unconditional love for each one of us. Shelley, Leigh, and Denise have sung their hearts out, and made their versions of famous hymns and worship covers their own. Having me very excited for the next full length all original album (who knows when that will be?), you will not be disappointed when you listen to this project, even though it only contains 1 original song. Well done ladies, for a sublime effort, and I hope many people are blessed by your efforts!

3 songs to listen to:  Awesome God, I Believe, House Of The Lord

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Carrie Underwood, Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, Steven Curtis Chapman, Avalon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *