Mack Brock – Space (Deluxe)

Capitol Christian Music Group

Release Date: November 20th 2020

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

Mack Brock– Space (Deluxe) (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. Your Church Is Alive (Live)
  2. Bless The One (Live) (feat. Matt Maher)
  3. Song Of Heaven (Live)
  4. Come Now (Live)
  5. Your Presence Is A Promise (Live)
  6. Savior Of The World (Live)
  7. Space (Live) (feat. Amanda Lindsey Cook)
  8. Still I Will Praise (Live)
  9. Your Church Is Alive (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  10. Bless The One (feat. Matt Maher) (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  11. Song Of Heaven (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  12. Come Now (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  13. Your Presence Is A Promise (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  14. Savior Of The World (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  15. Space (feat. Amanda Lindsey Cook) (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]
  16. Still I Will Praise (Live In Studio At Haven Place, Charlotte, NC/2020) [Music Video]

Having signed to Capitol Christian Music Group in early 2018, former Elevation Worship frontman Mack Brock, who served as music producer of Elevation Group as well for more than a decade; decided to step out on his own to record his debut full length solo album Greater Things in 2018. Venturing out into the great unknown to launch a solo career, one might surmise that perhaps there were disagreements between Mack and the rest of Elevation Worship- why would bands break up otherwise? Yet while that could have been the case, it isn’t actually known if it was or not. See, God could be calling each member to different areas, and one listen from the title track of Greater Things and the other 8 remaining worship anthems; and you’ll be convinced that Jesus still has something fantastic and wonderful for Mack to accomplish in the world of music in the coming years, as he brings more and more into the Kingdom of God through the gifts He has given to him. Mack also released Covered EP in 2019 (and you can read both reviews of Mack’s solo releases here and here!); and fast forward to this year, and Mack has another batch of worship songs to unveil to us. In late 2020, Mack unveiled Space to the world. Essentially Greater Things Part 3 (part 2 was unofficially Covered EP – as the subject matter, musicality and themes are very similar to his previous solo material!)– Mack proceeds where he left off, continuing to give Jesus the praise and glorifying Him because He has saved us and because He is good.

Opening Mack’s latest project is the heartfelt and pulsating “Your Church Is Alive”. As Mack fervently relays to us that no matter what comes our way, that the global church, the national church and the local church is still alive because of Jesus’ presence amongst us; we are met with confidence and reassurance our God’s sovereignty and immense unending love for each of us. Likewise, “Bless The One”, a thought-provoking and stirring duet with Matt Maher, is also a track full of energy and optimism- as we are met with one of my favourite songs on the album, and a vivid account of the gospel story. As Mack and Matt passionately relay the eternal truth of Jesus coming to earth, dying for our sins, being raised to life three days later, and inviting us all to be in His kingdom and to believe and follow Him for the rest of our days; we are presented with a theologically strong melody and one that I would gladly listen to again and again, as we gain more and more understanding of how Jesus felt when he approaching the day of crucifixion. Similar in theme to Phil Wickham’s “Living Hope”, “Bless The One” is a must-listen, and definitely is one of my favourite Mack Brock songs ever.

“Song Of Heaven”, a slower-paced, reflective ballad led by the acoustic guitar, stands tall at 7 and a half minutes long, as Mack fervently cries out praises to God, and sings out ‘…holy holy, Lord almighty, this is the song of heaven, a song that will never end, worthy worthy, King of Glory, this is the song of heaven, a song that will never end…’, whereby Mack champions God’s creation, similar to the theme presented in Hillsong UNITED’s “So Will I (100 Billion X)”; while the acoustic guitar led worship ballad “Come Now” invites the Holy Spirit to dwell within us and ‘…rain down heavenly flame, here in this place, unleash Your power, O Spirit come have Your way…’, similar in theme to Michael W. Smith’s “Healing Rain” and “Let It Rain”.

Co-written with Marty Sampson, “Your Presence Is A Promise” is in fact a promise- and a reassurance that God will always be with us and that He will never leave us, that ‘…like the stars, You will shine brighter with the night, even in the darkness, Your presence is a promise, in the valley, I know You won’t let me go, even in the darkness, Your presence is a promise over me…’; while the joy and celebratory mood comes in full force with the Easter-themed “Savior Of The World”, co-written with Phil Wickham. As Mack ardently relays to us that we can and will praise the Saviour of the world because of the cross and the empty tomb; we can now confidently declare this eternal truth and rest in the promises of the Almighty. Isn’t this comforting and a reason to shout and proclaim the Name above all Names? The title track, sung with Amanda Lindsey Cook, has Mack and Amanda earnestly and prayerfully relaying to us that there is indeed space for us to meet God where we’re at, to come as we are- similar in theme to Crowder’s “Come As You Are”. While the most emotional song on Space is the closer “Still I Will Praise”. Similar in theme to Jon Foreman’s “Jesus I Have My Doubts” and Jason Gray’s “Honesty”; Mack emotionally dives deep into his doubts and moments of unbelief, and then chooses to still praise God in the moments of uncertainty and confusion- as we all remember the promises of God and the truth of Jesus, and lean on Him in times of trouble and calamity. With this track being the heartbeat of the album- calling on God even when we don’t feel like it, we are met with an honest and emotional album- and one that I will be repeating on my playlists in the coming weeks, months and even years!

With Elevation Worship still going strong, and Mack Brock definitely fitting right into the ‘solo artist set-up’, this could be a win-win situation for everyone, as Greater ThingsCovered and now Space all remind us that there is something great happening soon that is waiting on the horizon for us. As Mack still is at home, as like all of us, during COVID-19, and hopes for his next tour whenever that may be; I reckon this album is sure to be in one of my top ‘favourite albums’ come the end of 2020. So, what are you guys waiting for? Listen to Space (as well as the deluxe edition, which includes all 8 songs as in studio performance videos)- and for that matter Covered and Greater Things), then listen some more! Let me tell you, you will be blown away!

3 songs to listen to: Bless The One, Savior Of The World, Still I Will Praise

Score: 4.5/5

RIYL: Elevation Worship, Hillsong Worship, Israel Houghton, London Gatch, Matt Redman, Bebo Norman, All Sons And Daughters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *