Jared Anderson – The Whole Landscape


Release Date: October 4th 2019

Reviewed by: Joshua Andre

Jared Anderson– The Whole Landscape (Amazon mp3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. The Whole Landscape
  2. Heaven Stands Up
  3. Kindness
  4. Work Of Art
  5. Irresistible

Previously signed to Integrity Music and Centricity Music, worship leader and songwriter Jared Anderson is an artist whom I recently discovered a few years ago, even though Jared has released many albums for the past 15 years! It’s a fact I have remedied hastily and to great appreciation over the past few years, as I have come to love many, many songs and the entire body of work from the artist known for his popular worship hits such as “Great I Am”, “I Am Free”, “The King Is Coming”, “Pouring It Out For You” and “Amazed”. Having just started to be an independent artist again, Jared, after a mini hiatus, is stepping out once again, recently delivering to us his new worship EP The Whole Landscape. And while on the surface this EP is quite CCM-ish and poppy, and probably won’t compare to his earlier material; there’s no denying the passion and heart for Jesus, that still keeps me engaged and captivated. Marking the beginning of the next musical step in his already successful and inspiring career- this time as an independent artist; Jared has delivered a hopeful and poignant tune that distinguishes his expansion in musical direction, and a stance I am gladly welcoming. So let’s see how The Whole Landscape motivates, encourages, and draws us closer into communion and worship with God.

Co-written with Anthony Skinner, the title track plays out like a Matt Maher track musically and vocally, as Jared fervently relays to us that every day, in every way, even if we can’t see it, God is indeed moving, and He is changing the entire landscape of the world that we live in. Extremely poppy and radio friendly in nature, Jared inspires and comforts and reassures us that God is in the midst of everything- even when it isn’t overtly evident. “Heaven Stands Up” is next, and this no-nonsense, emphatically declaratory anthem passionately relays that whenever we face adversity, Jesus is right beside us- for us in every way, and always in our corner. Musically anthemic in nature through the inclusion of vibrant electric guitars, the track was co-written with Sarah Reeves and We The Kingdom’s Andrew Bergthold, and is one of my favourites from Jared’s career!

“Kindness”, one of the most vulnerable and emotional songs that I’ve heard in a long time, is driven by the piano, and is a slower paced, piano prominent reflective and contemplative piece, as Jared ardently highlights that he is thankful and grateful for Jesus’ kindness to us even when we don’t deserve His lavish, unconditional and unending love. While the EP ends with the haunting and reverent 6 minute very un-CCM like emphatic worship anthem “Work Of Art”, and the toe tapper and danceable pop melody “Irresistible”- the former being a potential fan favourite in churches everywhere on Sunday mornings, and the latter a track that thoroughly deserves to be played on radio- and one of Jared’s most joyous and energetic songs in recent memory!

Though the majority of these songs (3/5) on The Whole Landscape are of the radio friendly kind, the 5 melodies are overall a joy to listen to and re-listen to; this EP from Jared Anderson has certainly done enough for me to be fully anticipating Jared’s full length upcoming album…whenever that may be. So should you listen to Jared’s latest project? Most definitely- yet even though other artists may overshadow Jared in terms of lyrics, music and grandness; Jared should be proud of his release, and in time, listeners will love this EP too! Well done Jared, I can’t wait to hear more of your music from this next chapter in your music career!

3 songs to listen to: Heaven Stands Up, Work Of Art, Irresistible

Score: 4/5

RIYL: Brenton Brown, Paul Baloche, Leeland, Shane & Shane, Matt Maher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *