Release Date: September 23, 2014

Reviewed by: Micah Garnett

Disciple – Attack (Amazon MP3/iTunes)

Track Listing:

  1. Radical
  2. Attack
  3. Dead Militia
  4. Scarlet
  5. Unbroken
  6. The Name
  7. Angels and Demons
  8. Lion
  9. Yesterday Is Over
  10. Kamikaze
  11. Crazy
  12. The Right Time

Attack is somewhat of a return to roots for the Kevin Young fronted rock band Disciple. 2012’s O God Save Us All was widely considered a misstep for a band used to churning out excellence record after record. Disciple has always been one of the heavier Christian rock bands around, with over 11 albums under their belt, so it shouldn’t surprise anyone that Attack is full of heavy guitar licks and lots of Kevin Young screaming. There is hardly a soft song on the twelve song tracklist. However, the rockers on Attack are more melodic and more anthemic than their previous albums. “Dead Militia” and “Attack” are especially catchy, and “Radical” is sure to be a fan favorite battle cry.

“Not just my mouth, but let my hands speak the glory of God. Til the day I die, with my heart, with my soul, til the day I die I’ll be radical. With my blood, with my bones, til the day I die I’ll be radical. To my friends, to my foes, til the day I die I’ll be radical.”

Attack’s rockers are great, but the lyrics are what sets the album apart. “Scarlet” reminds me a lot of something off Scars Remain or Horseshoes & Hand Grenades, and it’s a particular highlight.

“Though my sins will be as scarlet, though my hands have been an enemy of God, though my heart has played the harlot, You gave me more than I deserved when you washed my whole world as white as snow.”

Kevin Young believes what he’s singing. The theme of the album is being bold about one’s faith, and he makes it clear right off the bat. Young is not ashamed to sing about Jesus, which is something that’s missing in a lot of Christian rock these days. This leads to a level of worship and introspection that is almost unprecedented in such a hard album.  “The Name” begins with the lyrics: “Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him. How I approve of Him over and over.”

Attack is just a fun album to listen to. It may not be as deep as previous albums, but there is definitely a lot of passion poured into the album that should bleed into its target audience. These songs are going to be great in concert. Attack’s unabashedly Christian message is what sets it apart from other bands in the market, but it’s backed by solid music and solid production. If you, like me, were hesitant about the band’s future after O God Save Us All, rest assured, that Disciple is back and as good as ever.

3 songs to listen to: Dead Militia, Scarlet, Attack

Score: 4/5

RIYL: Write This Down, I Am Empire, RED

6 thoughts on “DISCIPLE – ATTACK”

  1. Have never given Disciple a good listen, but I’m loving what this album has to offer to far. Definitely will be giving this a full listen when it releases, and great review by the way! As a side note, I love the cover, but it’s not the best quality, but considering their independent, that’s probably expected

      1. I’ve been a Disciple fan for about 10 years now, and based on what I’ve heard on this album, this is better than their last 2 at least, maybe better then their last 3.

        Joshua and Luc, Scars Remain might be the one album all Disciple fans would tell you to listen to first. Their self-titled album was the beginning of their current sound in a way, everything before that was heavier, and less melodic, but mostly everything since the self titled has been heavy, but melodic at the same time. Their Southern Hospitality album has HUGE southern rock feel to it.

    1. Sorry for a late comment, but after having listened through this album multiple times now, I have to say it’s one of the best rock albums of the year. And yes, I have to say it even beats for King and Country’s newest, which is quite a feat 🙂 Love every song and the fact that they still rock out. And also O God Save Us All is amazing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *