Bright City – Bright City Presents: Still, Vol. 2

Integrity Music

Release Date: March 2nd 2018

Reviewed by: Jonathan Andre

Bright CityBright City Presents: Still, Vol. 2 (iTunes/Amazon mp3)

Track Listing:

  1. Our God Reigns
  2. Here For You
  3. Great Are You Lord
  4. Before the Throne of God Above
  5. Spirit Break Out
  6. Waiting Here For You
  7. No Longer Slaves
  8. Forever Yours
  9. What a Beautiful Name
  10. Build My Life
  11. Rock of My Salvation
  12. When I Survey
  13. So Will I (100 Billion X)

This is the second instalment of the Still series unveiled through Integrity Music. The mission of Integrity Music through this series is this- to release a series of instrumental worship albums that can allow us to be still and spend quality time with the Lord, away from the hustle and bustle of the life we often lead at the moment. Featuring songs that have been charting the radio in both now and in years of the past, this new project series presents songs to us in such a way that we have never heard them before. Without words. Sure, Bethel Music have unveiled these sorts of albums before, but much to everyone’s surprise (or to no surprise at all), their instrumental albums have all been instrumental recordings of their own songs. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, it’s just that it’s hard to listen to an instrumental worship album and sing along, when we only know how a few songs go. Nevertheless, Integrity Music have unveiled Still, a series that unveils to us alternative arrangements of popular worship songs without words that can be played in such an environment where it can seem a little insensitive to many if we were to play our faith-orientated music on a 24/7 basis. Bright City’s new album is one such album that can be played in sensitive situations and can still be enjoyed and loved, all the while evangelising covertly to people who the Lord can speak towards, even through instrumental music!

With a laid back and chilled atmosphere, this album is a must for anyone who wants to use it for personal quiet time with the Lord or if you want to place on this album as a means of evangelising to people without really doing it in such a way to draw attention to yourself. And hearing these songs, it’s very clever how the instrumentals are recorded in such a way where the melody of the track isn’t distorted too much, that a song can still be recognisable if the lyrics and vocals are nevertheless taken away. The album itself is a reminder for us to be still before the Lord, and to take time out of our busy schedules to remind us of the work God can do if we just quiet our hearts from all the clutter and noise that can seem to drown out the voice of the Lord whom is speaking to us everyday! Recorded in various different locations around the U.K., and mastered and mixed at the legendary Abbey Road Studios, we are reminded through this collection of songs, of a film scone, one that is a great one. If you love classical music, worship music or instrumental music, then this album is for you!

Produed by Jonny Bird (who also produced albums for Martin Smith and Army of Bones!); this is a great fusion of modern music sounds coupled with songs that people have heard in Sunday services for years! This a must for any old Bright City fans, and if you are new to this U.K. outfit, like I was, then this album is still nevertheless a good start. And as I finish this ‘review’ of sorts, let me impart what the band wanted to portray through this instrumental album- ‘…our hope for this album is that it would carry God’s presence to people. In our city and context we are excited that it will provide a bridge for people into church – that without the lyric, it’s something people can share easily with their friends. We’re praying that by listening to the record, people will meet with Jesus…’ Which cover are you glad Bright City recorded instrumentally? Who should host Still, Vol. 3 now that Rivers and Robots hosted the first volume, and Bright City the second? Let us know in the comments. Til next time!

3 songs to listen to: Here for You, Waiting Here For You, What a Beautiful Name

Score: 4/5

RIYL: Soul Survivor, Rivers and Robots, Passion, Paul Baloche

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *