Throwback Tuesdays (Third Day, Chronology, and Why we Desperately Need a Chronology Vol. 3)

Third Day have been around for donkey’s years. Since the mid 1990s when they released their self titled album in 1996 (which spawned the radio hits ‘Nothing at All’, ‘Forever’, ‘Love Song’, ‘Thief’, ‘Praise Song’ and the ever-reliable-at-concerts ‘Consuming Fire’), Mac Powell and the band have delivered heartfelt songs and emotive moments of poignancy to millions of listeners of their music throughout the years. Now in 2017, we see that the band have been around for 20 years officially (signed to Provident Label Group), and maybe even more than 20 years unofficially, considering that the band started even performing together without a label prior to the mid 1990s (I think in an interview, Mark Lee, guitarist, said that they played together as ‘Nuclear Hoedown’ in 1991 or 92). So what does that mean for a group that has shown us what it means to walk the line of rock and worship?

Third Day’s latest studio album was released in 2015, and featured songs like “Our Deliverer” (the promotional single), “Soul on Fire” and more recently “Your Words” (Feat. Harvest). While the trio (bassist Tai Anderson decided to take more of a back seat from the band during the year of 2015, and currently is a public speaker) haven’t released a new single since “Victorious” late last year (with a new version recorded as well), we start to wonder. Is it time for Third Day and its members to seek and pray, ask the Lord whether they should try out new and different things? While it may be sad to see the band members depart ways (like how it was sad to see Delirious? end things in 2009), if the Lord is moving them into different places, then I guess I’m all for that. But, til such a press release happens, we are left to speculate. In the meantime, I decided to post about Third Day, under the umbrella of ‘Throwback Tuesdays’, because it has literally been 10 years since the band’s release of 2 CD/DVD combos titled ‘Chronology’- Vol. 1, which highlighted the years 1996-2000, and Vol. 2, highlighting the next five years (2001-2005). So with the band releasing more albums within the span of 2006-2017, what shall I reckon we ought to see by year’s end? Chronology Vol. 3 I say!

Chronology Vol. 1 & 2 were one of a kind, because they highlighted the best of that era in Third Day music, while also giving us new recordings of older favourites, as well as live cuts of studio songs never to be found in any other place. They also attached to the project a set of DVD’s that painted a picture as to how the band was formed, interviews, live footage, DVD content and so forth. As an avid Third Day fan, even if anyone has most of these songs from previous Third Day albums, these two best-of collections are worth every penny, even if it is just for collector’s sake. So now we’re in 2017, why can’t we have a Chronology Vol. 3 to tie us over until when the next Third Day album releases? There is a new song called ‘Revival’ floating on the radio airwaves for a little while, so I guess a new Third Day album is not too far away.

So…Chronology Vol. 3. Do I think the label should release such a project? Yes, most definitely. Do I think they will? Probably not, but stranger things have happened. Nevertheless, it is ok for a Third Day fan to dream, right? So without further ado, here’s what I reckon ought to be the songs on Chronology Vol. 3 if they were to pursue such a project. The DVD content I’m not sure, maybe some rare stuff from the archives throughout that time period. So below is just my guess at what I think the CD portion could look like if Chronology Vol. 3 were to come into fruition. Happy predicting everyone. Here’s hoping the next Third Day album will be awesome as always. Til next time.

Chronology Vol. 3 (Predictions)

  1. Soul on Fire (feat. All Sons and Daughters) (Remastered)
  2. Revelation (2017 New Recording)
  3. Call My Name (Remastered)
  4. Trust in Jesus (Remastered)
  5. Lift Up Your Face (Remastered)
  6. I Need a Miracle (Remastered)
  7. Kicking and Screaming (Remastered)
  8. Your Love is Like a River (Remastered)
  9. Born Again (2017 New Recording)
  10. Victorious (Remastered)
  11. Otherside (Remastered)
  12. Run to You (Remastered)
  13. Our Deliverer (Remastered)
  14. Maker (Remastered)
  15. Surrender (Live)
  16. Children of God (Live)
  17. Gone (Live)
  18. Follow Me There (Live)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *